Domain’s History

It was in 1750 that the name HERTZ appeared for the first time in the Eguisheim marriage register, associated with the profession of winegrower.

Léon HERTZ (1888-1967) was the first to make viticulture his profession. Previous generations were multi-talented, for example his father was a winegrower and railwayman.

Léon HERTZ began his activity in 1913. He became the first owner of the present winery.

 

Pierre HERTZ (1923-1998) took over the business in 1947 on his return from the war. He gambled on the future by mechanising the cultivation of the vines.

In 1948, he invested in a caterpillar adapted to the constraints of the vineyard. Pierre HERTZ continued the mechanisation of the estate by buying the first diesel tractor in Eguisheim, a David Brown 30 hp tractor from 1954.

Bruno HERTZ obtained his DNO (National Diploma in Oenology) in 1976.

In 1979, he took over the estate and improved the quality of the wines. The same year, he bought vineyard land in the Rangen de Thann. While no one wanted to work in this vineyard, he relied on his unique terroir to ensure the production of exceptional wines.

As a lover of history and old stones, in 1996 he became a founding member of the SICA de la Cave Historique des Hospices de Strasbourg.

In 2006, Bruno HERTZ moved into the 16th century cellar in Eguisheim after several months of work.

At the end of 2009, a tasting room was built above the cellar to allow the public to discover the wines of the estate.

Since 2011, Bruno Hertz no longer works alone, he is assisted in the cellar by Sophie, engineer and oenologist. Eager to pass on his know-how and knowledge of the vines, Bruno Hertz regularly welcomes apprentices and trainees.

 

The quality of the wines produced by the estate is regularly rewarded with numerous distinctions.